Reiki is Japanese for “spiritually guided life force energy”. It  is an ancient healing art which brings about healing on physical, emotional,  mental, and spiritual levels through the intentional directioning of  chi, or energy. It is applied to the body and/or specific energy centers  with light hand positions. This technique can be done over the clothing,  or combined with other therapies.


What is a Reiki session like?

Reiki is a simple, natural and safe method  of spiritual healing and self-improvement that everyone can use and  learn. A Reiki session is extremely relaxing, and is used often for  stress reduction. Reiki can be used for virtually any known illness  and malady and always creates a beneficial effect. It also works in  conjunction with all other medical or therapeutic techniques to relieve  side effects and promote recovery.

During a session, the receiver will  typically lie on a massage table, and the practitioner will lay her/his  hands on various parts of the body, depending on where the person is  feeling pain, or what issues need to be addressed. Reiki is a very intuitive  process, and ideally, the session unfolds without any “agenda”, or “protocol”. The receiver may experience a very deep sense of  relaxation, warmth, release of tissues, emotional releases, or meditative  mind, just to name a few.

How was Reiki developed?

Reiki was developed in 1922 by Dr. Mikao Usui  after a twenty-one day retreat on Mount Karuma involving meditation, fasting,  and prayer. On the last day of his retreat, Dr. Usui  received, by intuitive realization, the power to heal using what he  identified as “Universal Life Force Energy”, or in Japanese “Reiki”.

After this discovery, he devoted his  life to the research and development of the Reiki System. In April 1922,  Usui moved to Tokyo and founded the Usui Reiki Ryoho Gakkai (Usui Reiki  Healing Society).

Usui taught over 2000 students to use  Reiki. Sixteen of his students continued their training to reach the Shinpiden level,  equivalent to the Western third  degree, or master level.

Usui died in 1926.

Usui also developed five principles,  that have been used in conjunction with the practice and teaching of  Reiki:

Just for today, do not be angry.

Just for today, do not worry.

Just for today, be grateful.

Just for today, work with integrity.

Just for today, be kind to others  and to yourself.

Every morning and every night,  sit in the Gassho position [hands held palm-to-palm] and speak these  words out loud in your heart.

How is Reiki Learned?

Reiki is not taught or learn in the traditional sense. Traditional Tibetan/  Usui Reiki training consists of 4 levels (Reiki I, II, II, and Master).  In each of these levels one receives an attunement. Each attunement  transfers to the student the ability to tap into an unlimited supply  of “Reiki energy” or “life force energy”. The attunement is  given by a qualified Reiki master teacher. Usually, with each attunement,  there is instruction from the Reiki Master Teacher, so that the student  will know how to use this healing energy.

It is very simple, which is one of  the most beautiful things about it. Its use is not dependent on one’s  intellectual capacity or spiritual development and therefore is available  to everyone. It has been successfully taught to thousands of people  of all ages and backgrounds, and is used widely all over the world.

If you are interested in studying Reiki,  please call us for more information at (406)860-4207. Elizabeth Shumaker teach all levels  of Tibetan/ Usui Reiki. There are two ways of going about learning Reiki. Everyone learns differently, so she teaches both individual one-on-one  training sessions, and classes with multiple participants. You may visit  the link entitled “Events and Classes” to find out about any upcoming  classes that I have scheduled.

CLICK HERE to find out more about my upcoming Reiki classes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *